Knowing how to reinstate suspended license in the State of New Jersey will help you to be prepared once it is time to do so. Of course, you will need to fulfill any suspension time limits imposed. When you have done this, you can get your license restored by paying a $100 fine online, in person, or by mailing a check or money order to the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). This fee is in addition to any fees imposed by alcohol related suspensions.
The State of New Jersey may impose additional requirements in addition to the ones the DMV requires. Depending on the situation, you may have to go to court and face more fines and additional suspension time in order to regain your driver’s license. If you experience license suspension 3 times within 3 years, you could face a 3-year license suspension.
Why Is a Driver’s License Suspended in New Jersey?
There are a variety of reasons you could face driver’s license suspension. Following, are some of the most common:
- Reckless Driving
- Accruing at least 12 points on your motor vehicle record
- Being under the influence of drugs or alcohol while driving
- Failure to provide proof of insurance for your vehicle
- Driving while your license is suspended
The amount of time your license is suspended will differ based on the reason it was suspended. Driving on such a license will only make your situation worse, as the time of the suspension may increase, along with the fines. In addition you could face incarceration for up to five years.
Stiff Penalties for DUI/DWI in New Jersey
Getting convicted for DUI/DWI is a serious infraction in and you will face stiff fines or penalties if you choose to do so. These penalties include:
- Suspension of your license
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device
- Community Service
Intoxicated Driver Program
Conviction of a traffic offense involving alcohol in will result in you having to complete an Intoxicated Driver Program at the Intoxicated Driving Resource Center (IDRC). After an evaluation, it will be determined whether treatment is necessary, and if it is, you may be required to achieve a minimum of 16 weeks of treatment.
Whatever reason your license was suspended before, learn from it and make sure it doesn’t happen again. Learn more about how to protect your driver’s license, yourself, and others by contacting the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.